HPV Stories in Womens Health Magazines?

Copyright 2012, Written by Will Blesch

Hi folks! It’s Sunday and I’m back on the prowl. Actually, I am in the process of doing some research to find out just how many womens health magazines have been publishing stories on HPV infection. I’m also interested in learning what slant the publications take in terms of vaccine promotion.

Before I even get started, I have to say that I am, right now, fairly certain that most womens health magazines are going to tout the official, Merck Pharmaceuticals line regarding Gardasil. (They say it’s safe, effective, and prevents cervical cancer.) Ever since Gardasil was FDA approved on June 8th, 2006 the majority of media in the U.S. have inundated the public with what amounts to free advertising for Merck.

Are those guys smart or what?

Anyway, while that’s my initial, pre-research opinion I’m really interested in finding out the truth about what information the major womens health magazines have published regarding HPV over the past year.

One thing I found out just before the weekend began though:

Merck acknowledged that in their controlled studies, a percentage of girls actually developed serious cervical lesions following Gardasil vaccination.  The vaccine seemed to cause the most lesions in girls with pre-existing HPV 16 or 18 infections, but also in girls who had no pre-existing HPV infections!

Reference:

Tomljenovic L and Shaw CA, Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine Policy and Evidence-Based Medicine:  Are They at Odds? Annals of Medicine December 22, 2011;

And these guys are still allowed to market the vaccine AT ALL? I think we live in what the Chinese would call, interesting times.

Feel free to leave me a comment or email me with your thoughts. Also feel free to take the shortened URL to this posting here:

http://bit.ly/A8GKWf

and share it on Twitter, Facebook, Linkedin, and Google+

Will Blesch is a freelance copywriter, professional blogger and media professional. If you’re looking for an experienced copywriter to take on a project, (ranging from full product launches to ghostwriting your organization’s blog) please get in touch and tell me how I can help.

will AT willblesch DOT com

Leave a Reply

